The David Cohen Prize for Literature is worth £40,000 and recognises a living writer from the UK or the Republic of Ireland for a lifetime’s achievement in literature.

2017 Winner Tom Stoppard

Tom Stoppard was born in 1937 in Zlín, Czechoslovakia. His work includes Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead, The Real Inspector Hound, Jumpers, Travesties, Night and Day, Every Good Boy Deserves Favour, After Magritte, Dirty Linen, The Real Thing, Hapgood, Arcadia, Indian Ink, The Invention of Love, the trilogy The Coast of UtopiaRock ‘n’ Roll and The Hard Problem.